Planning Commission

Meetings start at 6:30 p.m., every 4th Tuesday of every month

  • City Hall - Multi-Purpose Room
     Member Appointed  Term Expiration
    Rick Brooks, ChairDecember 9, 2019December, 2024
    Ray Fernandez, Vice ChairDecember 12, 2022December, 2026
    Stephen Blagden, CommissionerDecember 14, 2017December, 2026
    Mark Myers, CommissionerDecember 12, 2022December, 2024
    Ross Owen, CommissionerJanuary 9, 2023December,
    Peter Espinoza , AlternateMarch 13, 2023


  •  Note:
     Meetings held the 4th Tuesday of the month at 6 p.m. at City Hall Council Chambers; no stipend is provided.

Commission Facts

  1. No compensation is paid to commissioners.
  2. Elected officials may not serve on existing commissions.
  3. Commissioners are not allowed to serve on more than one commission at the same time.


The Planning Commission holds hearings in a public forum to review a multitude of projects related to land use planning for the city.  The Planning Commission may also review proposed city ordinances and other issues related to consistency with the General Plan.

The Planning Commission consists of five volunteer members appointed by the City Council.  Each City Council member appoints one commissioner to serve a term concurrent with their term in office.  Planning commissioners are selected by the City Council for their interest, experience, and expertise.

How to Testify at the Planning Commission Meeting

To testify at a Planning Commission hearing, you will be asked to complete a speaker identification card at the hearing.  If you are speaking regarding an item on the agenda, you will be called after city staff and the applicant make their presentations.  Public testimony is usually limited to three minutes per person.  If you believe you need more time for your testimony, you may ask the Planning Commission chairperson to grant you more time.  If you are with a group of people that are interested in speaking on a project, it is advisable that the group designate one speaker. The designated speaker should identify himself or herself as the representative for the group.

If you are unable to attend a Planning Commission meeting but interested in providing comments, you may send written comments to the Planning Division prior to the hearing date and the comments will be distributed to the commissioners to become part of the hearing record.

  1. Rick Brooks


  2. Ray Fernandez

    Vice Chair

  3. Stephen Blagden


  4. Mark Myers


  5. Ross Owen